#13 Super Mario Bros.

712628-525243_20060214_001

  • Original release year: 1985
  • Consoles: NES/Famicom (later released for GBC, GBA, Wii, Wii U, 3DS)

I still remember the first time I played Super Mario Bros. on the NES. I was a child and I’m fairly sure (actually, I’m adamant) the SNES and Mega Drive/Genesis were already out. I was born in the late 80s, so I didn’t really get to experience the NES until later on. Although technology had moved on, the first Super Mario Bros. game didn’t have any less of an impact on me. I feel a bit odd, because I feel like I should be discussing how this was the game that introduced me to the platforming genre and how it kick started my obsession with video games, but in actual fact, it didn’t. The original Sonic the Hedgehog holds that title. That said, despite being a mere young’un, I can still safely say that Super Mario Bros. is one of the best games of all time.

But what can I say about Super Mario Bros. that hasn’t already been said a million times already? It’s an incredible platformer, with legendary level design and led to the side-scrolling platforming boom of the late 80s to mid 90s. It essentially changed the video game industry forever. And yes, whilst it’s old and whilst Nintendo have expanded on the Mario franchise in a lot of ways, refining and even changing the formula, the original still plays just as well as it ever did.

Overall, although the Mario series is one that has had a huge number of releases, the original Super Mario Bros. doesn’t feel old fashioned, restrictive or archaic at all. There’s still Nintendo’s iconic level design present, the hugely clever enemy placement and there are still a whole load of hidden secrets to find. SMB is a classic everyone needs to play.

Leave a Reply

